Daily Archives: November 20, 2011

It’s About Time!

After spending three weeks working on my wood stove, it is finally ready to use.

Last weekend we put everything together for the second time in order to add an additional pipe to keep the heat of the flue at a reasonable temperature. However, once everything was together, we realized that there was a gap that would allow water into the wigwam. So, the stove was again out of order, which was especially annoying when the temperature dropped below 30 degrees early this week.

Yesterday the stove was again reassembled- this time the right way! (knock on wood). My dad spent the night with me in the wigwam and everything is seemingly ready to go. Also, the stove is working with much less wood than expected, which is great news because the wood I will use will have to be found on the forest floor. I will still be spending a lot of time searching for wood, but I won’t be needing nearly as much as I had thought.

I can’t even explain how great it feels to have people come up to me and recognize who I am and what I’m doing. Just knowing that people are excited about my project and seeing me progress is a great motivation.

20111120-203408.jpg

20111120-203359.jpg

20111120-203321.jpg

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized